Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

In this section

College of Pharmacy Research Day - February 8, 2019

Research Day is an annual College-wide event that brings together our trainees, alumni, faculty members and staff as well as industry and academic colleagues from the Chicago area. 

Organized in February, the event showcases the research of our students and postdoctoral trainees, with nearly 100 posters presented.  We invite exciting keynote speakers whose cutting edge research appeals to campus-wide audiences.  The day concludes with award ceremonies and reception.  We recognize our outstanding students, faculty members, and alumni as well as top poster presenters. 

This year's keynote speaker is Dr. Julie A. Johnson, PharmD, Dean of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy (since 2013) and Distinguished Professor of Pharmacy and Medicine.  She is also Director of the UF Health Personalized Medicine Program.  She received her B.S. in Pharmacy from the Ohio State University and her Pharm.D. from the University of Texas at Austin and the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio.  She completed a post-doctoral fellowship in cardiovascular pharmacology/ pharmacokinetics at Ohio State.  

Dr. Johnson’s research focuses on cardiovascular pharmacogenomics and genomic medicine implementation.  She is an internationally-recognized leader in pharmacogenomics and genomic medicine, with over 280 peer-reviewed publications and over $40M in research funding as principal investigator.  In 2015, 2016 and 2017 she was named a Thomson Reuters (now Clarivate Analytics) Highly Cited Scientist in Pharmacology and Toxicology, indicating she is in the top 1% of the most highly cited scientists in the field globally.  

Dr. Johnson has served on the Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee of the FDA, the XNDA Study Section at NIH, and in numerous scientific capacities with NIH’s NHLBI.  She has had leadership roles in the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), the American Heart Association (AHA), and the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT), for which she completed her Presidential term in 2017.  She is an elected fellow of the ACCP, the AHA and the American College of Clinical Pharmacology.

Dr. Johnson was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine) in 2014 and has received numerous other awards including teaching awards from both the University of Tennessee (1996) and the University of Florida (2001);  the Ohio State University Alumni Association William Oxley Thompson Award for early career achievement (1997), Leon I Goldberg Young Investigator Award from the ASCPT (2004), Paul Dawson Biotechnology Research Award, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) (2007), Therapeutic Frontiers Award (2009) and Russell R Miller Award for Contributions to the Literature (2010), both from ACCP, the Southeastern Universities Research Association Distinguished Scientist Award (2015);  AACP Volwiler Research Achievement Award (2016),  numerous endowed lectureships, among others.  

Announcement Template.jpg