Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

In this section

2016 Research Day

This year's College of Pharmacy Research Day was a success with 75 posters presented, a compelling keynote seminar by Dr. Liotta and great participation from our alumni and external colleagues from industry.  For the first time, we reached our goal of having the poster sessions evaluated entirely by outside judges.  We are grateful to the 45 external judges who evaluated all of the posters.  We also expanded number of awards offered to total of sixteen.

Download the Program/Abstract Book.

Revisit the research day in videos.

To view pictures from the Research Day, click on the image below.


Keynote Presentation:  A New Model for Drug Development in Academic Institutions

Dennis C. Liotta, PhD
Executive Director, Emory Institute for Drug Development (EIDD)/ Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor
Department of Chemistry, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia

Hans W. Valteich Research Award

Alessandra Eustaquio, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy; Center for Biomolecular Sciences
"Production of fluorinated polyketide drugs using microbial fermentation"

Alumna of the Year Award

aaa_2016_alumna.jpgJane Hsiao, PhD '73, MBA

Vice Chairman and Chief Technical Officer, Opko Health, Inc.
Founder of Innotech Laboratory and IVAX LLC
President of Ophtalmic Technologies, Inc.
Chairman of Non-Invasive Monitoring Systems, Inc.

2016 Graduate Student Awards and External Trainee Awards

This year, we have given out nearly $25,000 in graduate student awards and scholarships.  To see who received which award and for the list of other significant external awards received by our graduate students and postdocs, download the file.

2016 Winners of Poster Awards

Biology: Molecular and Cell Biology; Mechanisms of Action

  • 1st Place - Takeda Pharmaceuticals Award for Excellence in Research

Thao ND Pham, Bethany PE White, Huiping Zhao and Debra A Tonetti
Protein kinase C alpha mediates FOXC2 transcriptional repression of p120-catenin in breast cancer

  • 2nd Place - Hospira Award for Excellence in Research

Matthew Gilbertson, Karin Nitiss and John Nitiss
Trapped Topoisomerase 2 covalent complexes generate unique mutational spectrum

  • 3rd Place - Lundbeck Award for Excellence in Research

Dimple Modi, Rosemarie Tagare, David Davis, Dan Lantvit and Joanna E. Burdette
Regulation of PAX2 in fallopian tube epithelium and high-grade serous ovarian carcinoma

  • Honorable Mention

Jing Li, Karin Nitiss, Matthew Summerlin, John L. Nitiss and Les Hanakahi
Investigating role of TDP1 in non-homologous end joining

Chemistry: Discovery, Modeling, Design and Evaluation of Novel Drugs; Detection and Delivery Systems

  • 1st Place - Takeda Pharmaceuticals Award for Excellence in Research

Lauren M. Gutgesell, Jiong Zhao, Kiira Ratia, and Gregory R.J. Thatcher
A chemical genomic approach for identifying vulnerability in tamoxifen resistant breast cancer

  • 2nd Place - Horizon Pharma Award for Excellence in Research

Thomas Speltz, Sean Fanning, Christopher Mayne, Colin Fowler, Emad Tajkhorshid, Geoffrey Greene, Jeanne Danes, Jonna Frasor and Terry Moore
Branching out: γ-methylated hydrocarbon stapled peptides for the estrogen receptor/coactivator interaction

Clinical, Social and Applied Sciences

  • 1st Place - Takeda Pharmaceuticals Award for Excellence in Research

Surafel Mulugeta, Eric Wenzler, Melinda M. Soriano, Fred Zar and Larry Danziger
Differences in Clostridium difficile infection outcomes between guideline concordant and discordant therapy  

  • 2nd Place - TEVA Award for Excellence in Research

Pohung Lin, Beenish S. Manzoor, Adela Lupas, Raluca Birza, Dan Gratie and Edith A. Nutescu
The Impact of genotype testing on clinical outcomes in warfarin treated patients undergoing major orthopedic surgery and managed by a pharmacist-guided personalized consult service

Innovate@UIC Innovation Award

  • First Place

Rui Xiong, Jiong Zhao, Lauren Gutgesell and Gregory R. J. Thatcher
Novel selective estrogen receptor downregulators developed using endocrine-independent breast cancer cell lines

  • Second Place Is a Tie Listed in Alphabetical Order

Ja Hye Myung, Sin-jung Park, Kevin Tam, Andrew Z. Wang and Seungpyo Hong
UiChip: Circulating tumor cell detection for monitoring radiotherapy responses

Pooja Narendra, Anushree Datar, Tanja Skakavac, Karin Nitiss, John Nitiss and Rohit Kolhatkar
Use of minicircle DNA as a tool to induce RNAi to knockdown oncogenic EML4-ALK in lung cancer cell lines

UI Cancer Center Cancer Science Prize

  • First Place

Yilun Sun and John Nitiss
Processing of topoisomerase II (TOP2) - DNA covalent complexes for repair of DNA damage induced by TOP2-targeting anti-cancer agents

  • Second Place

Thomas Hanigan, Jayaprakash Neerasa, Jonna Frasor and Pavel Petukhov
Cell based strategy to improve HDAC inhibitor efficacy as breast cancer therapeutics

Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) Multidisciplinary Team Science Prize

Mary Choules, Michael Mayer and Minh Vo (Mentor Guido Pauli)
Estimation of systemic drug exposure in obese patients following bariatric surgery using physiologically based pharmacokinetic modeling approach

American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences (AAPS) Student Choice Award

Rui Xiong, Jiong Zhao, Lauren Gutgesell and Gregory R. J. Thatcher
Novel selective estrogen receptor downregulators developed using endocrine-independent breast cancer cell lines

Controlled Release Society (CRS) Student Choice Award

Jose Suarez and Rohit Kolhatkar
Comparative analysis of polymeric conjugates containing first generation Geldanamycin or second generation SNX-5422 as HSP90 inhibitors

International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) Student Choice Award

Wan-Ju Lee, Leslie A. Briars, Todd A. Lee, Gregory S. Calip, Katie J. Suda and Glen T. Schumock
Utilization of tumor necrosis factor alpha inhibitors in children and young adults with juvenile idiopathic arthritis

Thank you for your support: